Arctic council chairmanship passes from US to Finland

The Arctic Council Chairmanship has passed from the US to Finland during the 10th Arctic Council Ministerial meeting in Fairbanks, Alaska. The Chairmanship rotates every two years amongst the Arctic council full members.

  • Under the Finnish Chairmanship, which will run until 2019, the priorities are environmental protection, connectivity, meteorological cooperation and education.
  • The ministers also signed Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation, which covers a range of issues including access to research, the use of indigenous people, and training opportunities.
  • Ministers also signed the Fairbanks Declaration, which reviews the work of the Council during the outgoing U.S. Chairmanship and provides guidance for the Council’s work during the incoming Finnish Chairmanship.

Read more on the Arctic Council’s press release.


Leave a comment here

Comments are closed.